I was set to be induced Monday, Dec 3rd at 7pm. I was almost 40 weeks, but with Gestational Diabetes, my doctor wanted to avoid any complications by having the induction. I had been having contractions for a good week, but nothing major, and they were typically only when I was lying down on my back. Also, at my last doc appointment, I was already measuring 4cm. On Sunday, the 2nd, I was having some stronger contractions, but again nothing major. That evening around 10pm, I had a few contractions that were closer together than usual, about 7 minutes apart, so I decided to walk around and take a bath to see if they'd go away. They went away...but only for an hour or so. Around 11pm, they started up again and felt like they were getting stronger. I started timing them again and by midnight, they were 3 minutes apart lasting about a minute long and were somewhat strong. I called my doctor's office, and the lady said my doctor was on call (she wasn't) and that she'd call me back. 20 LONG minutes later, I still hadn't received a call, so I called the office again. This time, we found out my doctor wasn't actually on call, so a midwife called me back and asked me about my contractions. I got the OK to go in and about 1am, we were at the hospital ready to have this baby! We called my parents and Josh's mom, and they headed over too.
By the time we made it to the hospital, my contractions were pretty rough. I felt like my ribs were getting crushed! Even though we had pre-registered, the paperwork that we had to do (which was only a few pieces of paper) felt like it was taking FOREVER because of the pain. I wanted to jump to the other side of the desk and finish up whatever the lady was doing on the computer for her because it was taking SO LONG. (It probably really wasn't) By the time I was wheeled up to Labor and Delivery, I decided I wanted an epidural since I didn't feel like I'd be able to breathe if I didn't. Labor and Delivery was nice and quiet, I was the only patient there! (Later would come a screaming woman in labor right next to us!) They started monitoring me right away and I was already 6cm. Soon enough the anesthesiologist came in and gave me my epidural. The epidural was amazing! I progressed pretty fast after that, they broke my water, and by 6am I was already at 10 cm. Unfortunately, baby was still posterior, meaning she was facing the wrong way and wouldn't have been able to come out unless we were able to turn her around. So, with my epidural and IV stuck in me, they had me labor on my hands and knees, on my side, upside down (just kidding), and baby would still not turn around, gosh darn it! My contractions also started to lighten up, which wasn't good because they needed stronger ones to try and get her to turn. They gave me pitocin to make the contractions stronger and I continued to labor on my hands and knees, side, etc. Luckily, I had a nice button to push to keep my epidural coming. :) The doctor checked me several times again and somewhere between 11am-12pm (6 hours later!! I lost track of time, I was SO TIRED!) baby was still posterior. I was SO frustrated, as you can imagine. I mean, I was already ready to push, baby sounded great, etc etc. I was just missing the one piece! So the doctor talked to me about doing a c-section, which I really didn't want to do, but it was beginning to sound like that was my only choice. When he left, I cried and cried because I was exhausted and because I wasn't having the birthing experience I wanted to have. And I thought I was actually being pretty open-minded! Poor Josh, and our poor parents were all just sitting there waiting....So next thing I know, I'm getting prepped to have a c-section, signing more paperwork, and finally ready to have this baby. I was wheeled off to the OR, where I had to spend a grueling 15- 20 minutes without Josh while they prepped me and the room. I felt so alone and exposed, I'm pretty sure I was crying the whole time. The doctor, anesthesiologist, and nurses were great though, they kept me pretty entertained. Finally, Josh was allowed to come in and they started the c-section. I don't remember much, I just remember a lot of pressure and pulling, the doc and nurses joking around (my doc finally made it in) and soon enough, at 12:55pm, little Lily came out crying her little head off! I saw her for the first time, and she was beautiful! Head full of hair, nice and pink, and the perfect mixture of Josh and I. I have never been so in love.
They cleaned Lily off, and while I was getting stitched up, Josh got to hold her for the first time while he sat next to me. It was pretty amazing. She was 7lbs 15oz and 19 inches. Her Apgar scores were 9 and 9 and was overall doing great. When they wheeled me back into our room, I was finally able to hold her and it was so wonderful feeling her little body finally in my arms after being in my belly for 10 months!
After all was said and done, I was one exhausted and nauseous mama. I hadn't eaten since dinner the night before and having been pumped full of meds, I was puking all over the place. And on top of that, I wasn't allowed to eat anything of sustenance so I just kept feeling sicker and sicker. We had quite a few visitors that day! Poor Jonathan, Molly, Mark, and Bonnie - I ended up puking right in front of them because I couldn't get up to go to the bathroom! I have to say the recovery was much worse than the actual labor and delivery, with the nauseousness, the pain, the exhaustion, and not being able to move around much. On top of that, we had to be at the hospital for 2 days with nurses coming in and out, a new baby that was up every hour, and a screaming colicky baby next door (from the screaming woman in labor earlier)! Breastfeeding was not fun, and even less fun when we found out Lily had lost 12% of her body weight in 48 hours. The pediatrician had us supplement with an ounce of formula which I was not happy about, but did it anyway since my milk obviously wasn't going to come in soon. (We saw a lactation specialist later, and now we are exclusively breastfeeding thanks to some excellent help!) Lily gained some weight back, and we were finally able to go home on the 5th, which was my original due date!
Having a newborn is exhausting and rewarding all at the same time. We weren't sure we were going to make it through those first few days, but we did. Kudos to my hubby who was a champ through the hospital stay where I was half delirious and Lily was up all the time. He made sure we were both taken care of, both fed, both happy, all on top of him running on no sleep and having a crappy cot to sleep on. He was/is so amazing with Lily. When I ran out of patience or had a meltdown, he was always there to cheer me on and was always willing to take anything off my hands. (Not the breastfeeding, but everything else!) I couldn't have done it without him. My mom also stayed with us for a few days, which was SO nice! She helped cook, clean, and let us sleep. Thanks mom!!
All in all, I would do it all over again. I'm glad I went in there with no expectations for myself as that would've made it really difficult to just let things happen the way they needed to. I'm thankful for Josh, our parents' support, and our friends and family that came to visit. It was a crazy, rewarding, incredible experience and now we have this little cutie pie in our lives to show for it. :)
The day before I went into labor we went Christmas tree cutting!
Her first Christmas


And here she is at 6 weeks old! Wow time sure does fly by fast.










































